Omitir los comandos de cinta
Saltar al contenido principal
Inicio de sesión
Universidad EAFIT
Carrera 49 # 7 sur -50 Medellín Antioquia Colombia
Carrera 12 # 96-23, oficina 304 Bogotá Cundinamarca Colombia
(57)(4) 2619500

Welcome to Colombia

Colombia, officially the Republic of Colombia, is a country located in northwestern South America whose capital is Bogota. It has a total area of 2,070,408 square kilometers, of which 1,141,748 sq. km. are mainland and islands and the remaining 928,660sq. km. are territorial waters.

It is the fourth-largest country in South America by area and the third-largest in Latin America by population after Brazil and Mexico. Colombia is the only nation in South America that has coasts on both the Pacific Ocean and Caribbean Sea. It also has several islands in those bodies of water, including the archipelago of San Andrés, Providencia and Santa Catalina.

Colombia is bordered to the east by Venezuela and Brazil, to the south by Peru and Ecuador and to the northwest by Panama. The country has maritime borders with Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Venezuela in the Caribbean Sea and with Panama, Costa Rica and Ecuador in the Pacific Ocean.


The legal currency of Colombia is the Colombian peso (COP). The available denominations for bills are: 1,000, 2,000, 5,000, 10,000 50,000 and 100,000 pesos, and for coins are: 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 pesos. It is best to exchange money either at a bank or official currency exchanges, which generally are located in shopping malls. Visit this Web site for current exchange rates:

Última modificación: 13/09/2017 16:18